For the first season ever, I was successfully sucked into the drama of ABC’s The Bachelor.  I would like to say I was above it all, but no, I looked forward to Monday nights with my girlfriends and we all sat around mesmerized by the show.  At first I laughed at the situations I was watching; however, toward the end of the season, I felt like a guy watching sports yelling at the television.  I, like most of America, was not a fan of Vienna.  Nothing against the poor girl, but she was just not the girl I saw for Jake.  It was not Vienna that bothered me the most though; it was the lack of sincere love.

I admit, I am a hopeless romantic.  I completely believe in true love, soul mates and happily ever after.  While it appears that the television love process works, I am still skeptical.  I do not understand how a guy can spend weeks kissing up to 15 girls, and still say he is in love with one single girl.  Also, Jake was crying and debating his choice right up until he had to choose.  He could not decide between the emotional connection he had with Tenley or the physical connection he had with Vienna.  My answer for him– choose neither and find the one girl who combines both qualities (which was Ali in my opinion).  Then, Jake did not just choose a girl, but he got down on one knee and proposed.

I think this is one reason love and marriage have lost merit.  I do not think you can fall in love in a few weeks in front of cameras while you are competing with other people for the same person.  A lot of people think that is how it works, but it takes real-life experiences and settings to know you are really compatible with someone.  I think I could lust over anyone who could take me on helicopter rides and vacations in Saint Lucia (like Jake did), but that would not be realistic.  The moral of this story is that I do not believe reality shows work or are anywhere close to realistic.  They are entertaining to watch, but America needs to keep in mind that it is a show and that love means more.

