Tags

,

Yesterday I was driving through Birmingham and drove by a church that had a sign out front that said, “Jesus Tweets.” Under it was the username for the church and a description of how to follow them on Twitter. This was very surprising to me and caught me off guard. I understand that social media has a huge influence on society, but when did it become okay for a church to blog or have followers on a social media site. I am not an extremely religious person, but seeing the words, “Jesus Tweets,” almost offended me. I think if a church wants to be on Twitter or be a part of the social media world, it is okay, but to have something like that on a sign is offensive to some people. I understand that the church wants to disseminate information to its church members, but I still think it’s strange. Is it really okay for a church to do this?

